Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Goodwill Ambassador
377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a yoyo/Pakistani loach for round two of the trumpet snail wars. Round one - baiting and nuking them - didn't work as well as I had hoped. The nuked ones are gone, of course. But replaced by 10 times more.

I would expect some hiding by Mr. Loach for the first couple of days, even though the temp and ph matched his prior tank conditions perfectly. He did venture out twice, both times snooped around and felt the snails with his barbels, and ran back to hide! Apparently the shear number of snails seemed like a daunting task. I know the feeling.

Since this is my first try with a yoyo, how long should I expect it to take him/her to acclimate to his new surroundings and begin crunching little snails?

·
Banned
1,148 Posts
I would think, if you leave the lites off for a few days, he will go to work immediately. Fish gotta EAT :)

·
Goodwill Ambassador
377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'll keep the lights off for a couple of days, and feed only a tiny bit right now. I put the gold neon in there, and the bristlenose as well. So really, only the gold neon to feed.

I think I can only have one yoyo in the 12 gallon. My three kuhli's are in the 5 gallon, it looks like they are making a dent in the small ramshorns in there. They are pretty much under control right now. Its just those MTS's. When I took a sample in to the LFS to see if they had yoyo's, a fellow begged me for the twenty or so in the plastic bag. I was happy to oblige.

·
Goodwill Ambassador
377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The owner of the LFS I shop at told me that last year WA state officials confiscated all of his freshwater snails, not just the apple snails, telling him they are illegal in our state. He's afraid to try to get assassin snails for fear they'll put him out of business. The poor guy blanched when I gave my snails away.

·
Banned
1,323 Posts