Aquarium Forum banner

Yet another list of beginner questions

2K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  violet 
#1 ·
Hello!

edit: wow! sorry for the length!

I'm looking to set up my first reef tank in a month or two after i feel adequately informed on the subject. I just have a few questions as there are topics I've read conflicting information on or have been unable to find any information on period.

I'm an engineer and while sizing pumps and lights will thankfully be a breeze as well as any diy construction I have planned. I'm not exactly a marine biologist but i have a (un)fortune love affair with research so i feel i have a relatively strong grasp on the biology of the reef tank. Although i do feel I have lots more to learn. I'm not asking questions to save money or anything of the sort, just want to make sure my knowledge of the subject is complete so i don't doom any poor little fish or inverts with my lack of care.

One of the things i would dearly appreciate some advice on is filters as I've read several books on salt water tanks I've found some straight up contradicting opinions which could be due to either when they were written or, well, opinion :).