Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Reefer
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok im brand new to this, and as some of you may have read on another post i had ordered a 50 gal to start my first FOWLR tank. unfortunately i got the news today that the particular tank i ordered from a particular unamed website was cancelled today as they came out with a new tank and the one i ordered was "end of life". The new model costs 150 bucks more and somehow the shipping costs 50 dollars more and its the same weight, sounds fishy. Anyways I am looking for a great place to purchase a 50g acrylic tank and if anyone has good recommendations for a place to get a wet/dry that would be awesome too!

also at this time i would like to formally introduce myself. My name is Anthony Smith, i am from Sioux City, Iowa, i enjoy the outdoors: hunting, fishing, camping, any excuse to get out. I recently have become enthralled with a buddies new reef tank and wanted to get into the hobby and i wanted to start out with a FOWLR. and hopefully i can get to know the most of you as this seems like a pretty well knit group of folks we have goin on here, seems we have a very knowledgable support group for newbies like myself and i would like to say i appreciate that. SO THANKS IN ADVANCE!!!

·
Goodwill Ambassador
377 Posts
One caution about larger acryllic tanks. I had a 49 gal and loved it. Acryllic is fairly lightweight, and that's a plus. But it scratches easily. Also, they usually have cross bars on the top to stabilize them because they are also fairly flexible. I only ran the light in the hood that came with the tank. But, the heat from the light warped the cross bars after only a few years. I finally tossed the tank. You may wish to consider an all glass tank instead.

Oh, and welcome!

·
Reefer
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #3