Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i have a 10 gal tank sitting around and i want to make a nano reef out of it. I know it is a lot of work with bi weekly water changes and all that, but that is not a big deal for me. Doing it right is what is important. I am pretty new to saltwater, and i would like to know what you guys think i should have in it. What type of filter should i have? heater? other accessories?

How long and how should i cycle it? substrate?

What can i put in it? i wouldn't mind just having crabs, shrimp, and some clownfish but i don't want to overstock it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
167 Posts
I actually have a 10 gal. nano too, it's a lot of fun, and a lot less work then people make it out to be.
but the question is are you going to be keeping corals, because if you are you'll be needing more intense lighting fixtures, but that's another story.
just to start off with the basics I use a marine land size B filter I believe. it filters for a 50 gal. tank so it just makes life a little easier. you'll want to have a few pounds of live sand to make a thick layer on the bottom. you'll need at least 10lbs of live rock( or you could always get dried dead rock, it's a bit cheaper and will eventually come back to life and house Coraline algae over time)(this acts as a natural filter and speeds the cycle)
for a heater just get something that will sustain about 78-81F
you also might want to invest in a small power head for water flow, it'll keep the water moving and will give a little current for your fish to swim against.

for fish, I kept 2 clowns for a very long time until they passed, so it's very do-able
and currently I have 2 fish, and green chromis and purple back psuedochromis