Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1. How do you ensure that the temperature of the refill water is the same as your tank temperature?

2. If you are using a faucet hose, is it acceptable to add the water conditioner to your tank after you refill?

Thanks
fisfan

·
Registered
15 Posts
I was wondering the same as well. Newbie here!! LOL! Good questions.

·
Aspiring Aquarist
47 Posts
I am not sure what most people do, but I know that I am going to adjust the water parameters out of the tap before I put it into my tank. I am still pretty new at this myself, but my guess would be that it could affect your fish. You could run it out of the tap as close as you can get it to the temp of the water that is in the tank already.

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
You'll get varying answers on this as some use the python and add the water directly from the tap and the conditioner to the tank.

Me, on the other hand, I age my water in 2.5g jugs for at least 24hrs prior. My pH from the well is way to low so I use crushed coral to buffer the water and bring up the pH prior to the wc.

·
Registered
307 Posts
This is based on my experience, as I'm sure others do things differently in this hobby, but I just try to feel the temperature of the water on my skin compared to that of the tank. As far as water changes go, I fill up buckets with water and add conditioner to those, letting them sit to make sure the conditioner has been able to treat all the water. I know some that use the python hose and pour water directly into the tank and add conditioner to the tank...I would be afraid that the conditioner wouldn't be able to work as quickly as the new chlorinated water is added to the tank. Some contaminants may still find their way to the fish/plants/beneficial bacteria before the conditioner is able to flow through all the areas where the new water is located.

Just my opinions! ;)

·
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
7,685 Posts