Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I have a question I am needing help on. I have a 200 Gallon Fresh Water tank and curious how most people with a tank that bid do water changes. I have the large Python Siphon with the faucet pump. Do I need to fill water in buckets with the dechlorine additive, or can I just fill the tank straight from the faucet and then add the dechlorine additive to the tank?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hello gunreaper,
I am NOT an expert by any means, and the only reason I am offering an answer here is that I asked the exact same question just a week or so ago. What I was told to do was after taking out water, add dechlorinator to the tank and fill straight from the tap. Just be sure to add enough dechlorinator to treat the entire capacity of the tank, not just the volume of water you are replacing.
Hope that helps.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So add enough aquaSafe or Stresscoat to the water to treat the hole tank? Can you add too much additives over time or not?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Yes, add enough to treat the whole tank. As for overdosing, I'll leave that question to the other more knowledgeable people here. I'm sure they'll be here with an answer shortly. Good luck.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Good question. I have a 55 gallon and Python siphon and aging water for a 15-20% water change would mean at least 2- 5 gallon buckets lying around every week. I don't know about you but I don't have the room for that. It also can get very messy.

Anyone else have there $.02?

·
Registered
27 Posts
Media, I think GC and I want to use the Python to fill the tank and bypass the buckets. We just need to adjust the incoming temp at the faucet and use aquasafe or the like to the whole tank to take care of the chlorine. Possible?

Not sure what to do about the pH adjustment though.

·
fishboydanny
584 Posts