Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Well I'm fairly new to fresh water aquariums. I used to live in Ohio, but now I live in Anchorage, Alaska. Our tap water here has very high levels of floride and the pH is very alkaline. I recently setup a new 10 gallon tank and did a pH test on the water. I discovered that it has a pH of 7.6 or higher (the test only goes to 7.6). I've attempted to balance out the water with Nutrafin Aqua Plus tap water conditioner with no sucess yet. I'm about 12 hours into that process.

Does anyone have any ideas on what could help balance my tap water?

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
There are some other factors that weigh in here such as the GH of your water. Have you tried letting the water sit in a bucket for ~ 24hrs and then testing it?

Also, see about getting the High pH test kit if you don't already have it. That will give you better idea of what the pH is.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
As of today it has set for 24 hours. I'm taking a cup to Petco today for analysis. I'll post my results here later on. Thanks!

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well I got the water tested and it appears it's also high in ammonia. So I guess I'll be waiting around for that to lower as well.*old dude

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·