Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to this whole aquarium thing and I'd like to start a nice one for my apartment. I know someone that knows about fish and can help me with them, so I'm being a bit more ambitious than most first timers, but I'm not certain about stocking fish and size and compatibility and I'd like to run it by some experts to get some opinions.

I'm going with a 37" gallon tank that will house five decent sized fish (possibly more if you all think so)... I'm not expecting any of the fish to get to full size, but then I don't really know how they grow in certain conditions and don't want them to get too big (maybe 4-6" each). Anyway, I've selected five and I think they should go well, the only concern I have is mixing the African Cichlids with the American Cichlids, even though the Ameican Cichlids are the bigger fish in the tank... so my selection is as follows:

One Tiger Oscar
One Red Parrot
One Buffalo Head Cichlid
One Demasoni Cichlid
One Green Tiger Barb

This represents a good variety in size and color... and I think they fish should be pretty compatible. I assume I'm going to have to buy the barb basically full size to avoid him being food for the cichlids, but I'll take all of your opinions on that.

So, I guess, what do you think about the selections? Will it work? Can I fit more fish down the line? How big would you say each of these guys will get in a 30" / 12" / 22"? Is there anything else you could give advice on?

EDIT: Oh yeah, if I could do more, I was looking into a Starry Night Pleco, as well.

·
Registered
91 Posts
i like to use liveaquaria.com to determine the size of the fish i want and what ph kh range they need to be kept in. you can look up each fish and see what they recomend and go by that.

·
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
7,685 Posts