Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am confused about what type of hood/light fixture to get for my tank. I don't want to break the bank buying a light fixture, but I would like a light that would allow me to raise a broad spectrum of corals. Should I buy a regular glass top for my tank? If anyone could recommend a specific hood/light fixture that would be great. I'm brand new to the saltwater aquarium world...actually to aquariums period...so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
943 Posts
I would suggest that you start with at least a 29 gallon because there is very little you can do with a 10 gallon IMO and they are very difficult to maintain water quality.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What is it about a 10gal that makes it difficult to retain water quality? Is there equipment that would help with the problem such as using a protein skimmer? Does this mean the water simply requires frequent (weekly) 10% water changes? Thanks!

·
Registered
943 Posts
Small amounts of evaporation can change your salinity rapidly so constant topping off is needed, nitrates can climb very rapidly, heat fluctuations happen fast, even 1 small PH for water movement takes up considerable space, probably only 1 small fish could be put into a 10 gallon and I would recomend 10% WC twice a week also any light that would grow corals would really heat the water up fast oh and I recomend a skimmer for anybody getting into the hobby and it would be tuff to get a good skimmer for that size tank. I am just giving you my opinion on this size tank and I can almost bet that if you have success you will be wanting to upgrade very soon so why not start with something easier and that gives you a little more room for live stock and potential problems.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·