Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. So I really want to start an aquarium and I think I want to start a saltwater tank. Any suggestions for a good starter kit, or something to get started with easily? I'm fairly new to this, and need all the help I can get! lol

·
~/root
661 Posts
Start with as big as you can afford (this would include the filtration,stand,substrate, etc.)

The bigger the tank the easier it is to keep in check. The smaller the tank the more problems you may have starting out with.

You Will Need:
Tank
approx 1lb per 1gallon of live rock
approx 2 or 3 bags of live sand
optional skimmer
a sump or a canister filter
optional refugium
return pump
power heads
test kit

·
Banned
3,683 Posts
Hello everyone. So I really want to start an aquarium and I think I want to start a saltwater tank. Any suggestions for a good starter kit, or something to get started with easily? I'm fairly new to this, and need all the help I can get! lol
Just to make things easy partition the tank with a 1/4 square grid eggcrate. So there is most of the tank for fish and corals and a small portion for macro algaes. (i just crammed in the egg crate about 3" in front of the back glass on my 55g). then add some lights pointing at the section from the side.

the idea is to form a small protected section to grow macro algaes in.

then add the macros as part of the initial setup.

then do the rest.

my .02

Reactions: MediaHound

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'll get the hang of this sooner or later! I'm thinking now that I may just start a freshwater tank to begin with, even though I really want a saltwater tank! I've heard the freshwater tanks are much easier to begin with and maybe that way I can get some experience quickly to start another tank that is saltwater.

·
*blackback butterflyfish*
208 Posts