Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im brand new to the saltwater world, im planning to set up a 55 gallon 48"x12"x21"
i want something like a banded snake eel, i got no clue if my 55 is too small for it or not, and im also planning other fish which i just don't know what to choose of, all of them just so wonderful.
Need help with every system needed for saltwater. thanks :confused:

·
Registered
95 Posts
Hello and

WELCOME To The Boards !!!

The most important item you need right now is information on salt water reef systems. I can not over emphasize this enough. While the net (other than the forums) is great for something very specific, it does rather poorly at providing background information that is required for salt water systems. Which is what brought you here.

What you want to do is to obtaining several good books on state of the are salt water reef systems. Two excellent ones to start with are The New Marine Aquarium by Michael S. Paletta and The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert M. Fenner.

At this point you need good, solid, basic information. Read, study, and understand the material, and at that point you'll be able to ask any questions you may have on anything read and you will also have a much better chance with first time success.

My second biggest suggestion would be to purchase decent equipment from the get-go.

I highly suggest you to purchase an RO/DI water filter. At a minimum, it should have a pressure gauge, vertical DI resin canister and a Filmtec RO membrane which makes 75gpd at 98% rejection. It should have a high quality carbon filter, not granular activated carbon. In other words, stay away from ebay. Buckeye field supply, air water ice, the filter guys, or cultivated coral are where you should shop for this. Water is the most important ingredient;