Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay, I cycled my tank with fish in it (I know I know...).. and have lost 3 of my 4..

so... still have my little mickey mouse platy swimming around by himself now in a 10 gallon tank

I've added 2 plants (aquatic primrose).

So, what I want to know now, is what kind of fish would be good to add when the cycling is finished?

I'm looking for something colorful and that is fun to watch, but I'm also pretty new to this, so I need something that would be okay for a beginner.
I'm also considering adding some shrimp as well. I just want some suggestions.

again,
10 gallon, freshwater tank
Filter is a Penguin Bio-Wheel 100 (I think I"m looking at the right thing)
has a heater.
currently 1 mickey mouse platy
2 aquatic primrose

so... any suggestions?

·
Registered
43 Posts
First and foremost save the Platy and get on top of testing your water everyday, detoxing with Prime every 24 hours along with a 30% water change / conditioner every day. Its not just about saving the fish but the challenge of being able to effectively finish what you started and learn how maintain a cycled aquarium. I made the same mistake you did with a 60 gallon tank and 29 fish but I was bound and determined to take care of the problem and it was very hard for 35 days but I got through it with only 4 fish casualties.
So you can do it but take care of first things first, the cycle before getting anymore fish. Stay focused on the goal and do what is necessary to bring that 10 gallon with its passenger home safe to cycle harbor.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
yeah, I know I need to wait until everything is cycled before I add anything else to the tank, but nitrite levels are falling now. I figure it will be another few weeks before I get anything else (other than maybe some plants) to go in the tank.