Votes: 8 66.7%
  • Eheim

Votes: 3 25.0%
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
which is the best canister filter? please include any and all comments about design flaws, and how user friendly, or un-friendly they are. also if you can specify what model you have had experience with, and why you chose that model. :)

·
Registered
143 Posts
I haven't used any of these, but I hear Fluval is pretty good. I haven't heard anything bad or good on the other two. :)

·
Registered
274 Posts
Well I'm new to the whole thing but I got an Eheim and I can't believe how easy it was to set up. Seriously.. I read the reviews on most of the canister filters and it primed in like 10 seconds and has been running super smooth since. Unless I have any problems, I might be hooked for life. My only thing is that I might buy another one. I got a canister filter rated for an 80 gallon tank and I'm running a 75... Some people tell me I should have gone a little higher. Can you over filter a tank?

·
Registered
67 Posts
I have two EHEIM 2215 canister filters. IMHO i think they're the best.Easy cleaning/setup/quiet/ etc. I cant say enough about all EHEIM series, they are a fantastic canister filter. Sorry i dont have much experience with rena but fluval are not worth the money IMO..

·
Banned
1,148 Posts
I voted fluval, because its the only one of the 3 ive ever owned. I found it to be easy to use, of quality construction, and versitile, because of the media bins. I had it set up on a spray bar, for surface agitation, and it had the valves to shut off back-flo when service was required.

·
Banned
1,323 Posts