Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all,

I am not a newbie at this hobby...I have had a 20-ish gallon tank in operation since the mid-1980's...but I confess I have often taken a haphazard approach to fish selection. Well, not THAT haphazard; I don't think I've had a tendency to overstock my tank. But I am at a point now where I want to add some fish if possible and want to choose wisely, and am thus seeking advice from the experts.

My tank is about 17 gallons; it looks like a typical 20-gallon tank but is kind of trapezoidal in shape (the bottom is narrower than the top). I also have some rocks, one of which is large, that eats up some space. There are some fake plants as well. Currently I have 'the-world's-oldest' gold barb, two smallish honey sunset gourami, and four fire ribbon danio. A while ago thought I might add one or two more honey sunset gourami because I like them, then I saw a recommendation that the rule-of-thumb (or someone's rule-of-thumb) recommended only two per 20 gallon tank! And another recommendation said four per 20-gallon tank. So I don't know what to think. Let me know if you think I can get more of those. But, unfortunately, I am not sure if my local fish will have them; I don't think they are very common.

An alternate thing I am interested in doing, though, is getting some smallish schooling fish. At my fish store they have little recommendations like "best in schools of 6 or more" or more. Because I don't have a huge tank, I am limited in terms of how many fish I can get, so if I want to get the recommended size school, I think they'd have to be smallish fish.