Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I use to have a small 12g nano. But I am buying a 75g with equipment this weekend. Well on my old tank since it was so small I use to just buy water, but I could never afford that with a big tank. So yesterday I ordered a RO/DI system 50gpd and salt mix.
Anyways, PLEASE help. I have never used one before. I plan on attaching it to my bathroom sink, and just leaning it agains the wall, then when not in use I want to store it, so I don't have to look at it. I have well water, to produce 75g with one of these hooked up to the sink how much would that add to my electric bill? I don't have a water bill since I have a well, but I do have a bill for the water pump in my well. And can I lean my RO/DI system against a wall while in use, or is that bad for it, and won't work?
What else? How do you use and maintain them? Please help, I have no idea.

·
Registered
2,257 Posts
its an extra 50g per day, however most RO/DI units produce 1 good gallon and UP TO 4 waste gallons.

so basically it produces 50 good gallons a day....and 200 gallons a day total depending what model RO/DI it is.

what is your water pressure at the faucets? If WP is too low it wont work and youd have to get a booster pump. Use is easy, however you will need a storage container to put the good water in, and might as well just dump the waste water outside so it doesnt take up valueble space in your septic tank.

Maintence is easy, they come with a wrench for the filter housing( this is why they are much easier to work on mounted, good luck getting it off without the unit bolted down). now much else really to them its a brita on a much larger scale.

Id mount it to a board or make a way to mount it to something portable yet solid.

·
Premium Member
3,108 Posts