Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My regulator is here, I have my Eco-complete and plants all here. I intend to put it all together this weekend, moving my fish to the quarantine tank for a couple of hours while I pull it all together.

I will be putting the CO2 stuff in place tomorrow.

What do I need to keep in mind as I pull it together? I have been keeping fish for 46 years but this is the first time I am fully committing to live plants and don't want to wipe out my fish in the process.

Thanks for any tips.

·
Registered
307 Posts
What types of plants are you adding? Although I didn't buy all of my plants at once for my tank (didn't quite get the idea of HEAVY-STOCKED WITH PLANTS!) I know now that things go smoother with as many fast growing plants as possible in the beginning.

I would maybe sketch out where you want to place everything, that way you're not constantly uprooting because a taller plant needs to be in the back...
Set up your hardscape first (rocks/wood) and POST PICS! We all love seeing everyone's tanks!! Good luck!

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I didn't expect to do it all at once, either but on reading, that appears to be the best way to go about it. Here is what I have on hand except the Christmas moss which is still due in. The others are here waiting to go into the tank. They are drop dead gorgeous. Hope they stay that way!

Pogostemon erectum
Hottonia palustris
Myriophyllum mattogrossense
Rotala macranda sp 'Japan Red'
Amazon sword
Java fern
Christmas moss

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
All went pretty smoothly. I made the hideout for my spotted raphael too easy for loaches to scoot through, so I need to create a couple of other options for him where I can see him if I need to. I also need to clean out the filter since all the gunk is in there now. CO2 is at 9 ppm after 24 hours. Will crank it up again once the lights come back on.