Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I think my clown fish is pregnant I am new to this my tank is about 3 months old my clown fish seems to be acting strange staying out of site from the other fish in the tank I only have one other clown and a yellow tang with about 50 ponds of live rock. How can i tell if she is pregnant and if she is do I need to seperate her into something else to protect babies?

·
Banned
1,148 Posts
It is very unlikely, but not impossible i suppose, that your fish is expecting. It is ,more likely it is being pestered by someone else in the tank, also if by the very remote possibility, it is expecting, i have serious doubts about the fry ever becoming viable. I hate to sound like a wet blanket, but experts in the field of Saltwater fishkeeping have a very hard time getting baby fish in captivity, Although again i stress ANYTHING is possible

·
Registered
74 Posts
Hi and welcome
Are your two clowns different sizes and both the same type of clown fish.
IMO you would have a big one ''female'' and the smaller ''male'' because clown fish are hermaphroditic the female will always be the largest of a breeding pair, the size is the best way to determine gender as its the only noticeable difference.
If you do have a breeding pair then you only need to make sure you have a smooth piece of slate or live rock for the clown fish to lay her eggs, and when they hatch collect the fry and feed them brine shrimp or some other type of fry food.
Hiding clown fish is more than likely a result of being shocked by you putting the lights on without warning Or it could be sick.
What are your water parameters?

Reactions: JIM

·
Registered
74 Posts