Aquarium Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fellow Forum Members - This is my first post. I am quite new to this hobby, so please pardon the sophomoric nature of my conundrum. I am including information about my aquarium below, in case any of it is helpful in forming a diagnosis. I am also attaching two images of the problem area in my tank.

To summarize, I have a black substance which has propagated on my piece of driftwood, is beginning to cover the live grass i have in the tank and has recently spread to the aquarium walls after I skipped a week of cleaning to observe this issue. Please see the photos for reference. On the driftwood, it covers the surface like black slime/mucous and appears to actively respire, as there are bubbles (assuming CO2 but unsure) trapped beneath the slime as you will see in the pictures. On the grass, it covers the tips of the grass like thick mucous and has grown a few thick tendrils, but not progressed beyond those few tendrils in ~2 weeks.

I have tried several treatments thus far. After some online research, thinking perhaps this was cyanobacteria, 1st, I applied one dosage of Chemiclean Treatment for Red Cyanobacteria. After 1.5 weeks, there appeared to be absolutely no impact to the black slime. Going back to google for answers, with a hunch that this was perhaps black beard algae, next, using a plastic syringe, I applied 1mL/gal. (39mL total) of 3% hydrogen peroxide solution to the tank. Small bubbles propagated on the outside of the black slime in the spots where I had applied the H2O2, which I found encouraging. Unfortunately, after several days, the black slime seems to have exhibited no visual change/degredation.