Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello. I have been a live plant/Discus aquarium hobbyist for 20 years. I recently bought a 125 gallon acrylic with built in wet/dry filter (in the back of the tank). I set it up for cycling 5 weeks ago. I followed my normal cycle procedures, adding a few plants, two Amazon swords, three small Anubius, and a piece of driftwood with java moss growing on it. I also added 15 Rasbora Hex. I watched the cycle for the first three weeks, and saw the normal levels (ammonia raised, then began dropping, nitrites began to raise, then finally nitrates).

The cycle seemed to finish about the third week mark ammonia 0, ph 6.5, nitrites and nitrates 0.0. I then added 50 cardinals, 15 panda cory cats, and 5 Dwarf Blue Rams. Everything was very healthy and happy. About a week later (at the four week mark) I added 10 small discus and three more amazon sword plants, a couple of hygro, and four java fern. Everything still seemed to be happy and healthy. Water crystal clear, plants growing, fish happy and eating all week.

At the beginning of the 5th week, I did a scheduled 25% water change (straight water change, not disturbing the gravel). I prune the dead leaves and remove dying plant matter at bottom of tank. then just suck water out and water in. I've found that in the past this works very well. Every other month I do a light gravel vacuum with the water change....Anyways, the next morning after doing the water change, the water was cloudier than usual. I thought it would go away after a day or so, figuring it was just the introduction of the new water. Well, it just kept getting cloudier and cloudier by the hour. I tested the water and the ammonia was 8+ YIKES.