Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently this number of fish in our tank went down from 4 to 2. One of them died because it was around 5 years old and the other one was attacked by, lets say FISH A in our tank. Now FISH B, just sits on the top of our plants kinid of laying back and chilling out, not really swimming. It will sit and the bottom and stay behind the rocks or something. I have seen FISH A attack FISH B(or at least chase him).

I am not sure if FISH B is sick, or scared of the other fish. The pH and ammonia levels are good, right temp. I am not sure.

Any suggestions here?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
110 Posts
I'm still new to pet fish, but I had a Cichlid that became overly aggressive and would sit in the middle of the tanks and chase any fish who ventured out of the corners. The only fish it did not go for was one of the Blood Parrots and Oscar. I removed her and after about 10 minutes the tank went back to normal and all the fish were swimming around and socializing again. I'm not sure why she went aggressive but separating her from the tank seemed to work.

Reactions: OP_tiMus-pRiME

·
Registered
45 Posts
If you dont have a separate tank then a trick I use is to get one of the breeder nets that hang on the side and put angry fish in the net and do a lights off with no food for 24 hours and rearrange the tank. then after the 24 hours release angry fish and the confinement and the removal of territory markers usually stop the aggression. Just please don't put a 6 inch tall angel in a 4 inch breeder net. the fish has to still be able to turn around in thebreeder net.

·
Registered
45 Posts