Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to larger tanks. Still waiting for my tank to cycle and I've been looking around for fish and these Cichlids looks Colorful and a lot of fun. I just have a few questions. Which kind should I get because I see African and South America? How many can I fit in a 55 gallon tank? Will I need certain items like rocks and plants? Also are they hard to care for? Which ones are more fun because I have seen non aggressive and aggressive? Any other items I may need for these guys please make me aware of such as do they prefer gravel to sand vise versa.

Thanks!

·
Aquarium Fanatic
1,267 Posts
I have a 55gal African cichlid tank with 4 bumblebee cichlids 5 zebra cichlids 6 African kenyi's and a few other assorted fish. Most people would say it is over stocked but since I have only lost 2 fish in six months (due to ich) I would disagree. You with need lots of hiding places whether you use rocks are pre-made ornaments is up to you. I went with rocks I found near my house to make caves. I used sand instead of gravel just to make it look more natural since that is what they use to live in.

Here is a picture of my setup.

Let me know if you have any other questions I would be glad to help.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello,