Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Newbie here with a 55gal fresh water. I am just now going through the cycle process in initial set up (not quite 1 week into it) and of course I have had a change of mind. I am wanting to use live plants instead of the plastic ones that I have now. Not sure if I have to start all over and get the right substrate below the gravel or not. Any suggestions would be most welcomed.

I look forward to being here and reading and learning as I go along with my new tank. So excited but am waiting and testing and .... waiting more.

·
Goodwill Ambassador
614 Posts
welcome to the site...

what substrate do you have on right now???

supposubly (excuse my spelling) sand isnt as good as gravel...but if you provide with tablets they will do fine...another thing to consider is what type of fish you are going to stovk it with???some fish will eat or destroy your plants(silver dollars,cichlids,etc)
another thing to consider is diy (Do It Yourself) c02 which will enhance the production of your plants...

what type of fish are you going to get???i just finished cyclig mine and im starting to stock as we speak

welcome to the site again

Reactions: orion

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the reply!
Currently I have just natrual looking smallish gravel. I was thinking of starting with the low light plants that I found a link to on this site in another area.
As for fish, I am going community tank. Tetra's and the like. Not really sure exactly at this time. Figure I have a few weeks to get the initial cycle and still reading and researching. But any suggestions are more than welcome, they are very much appreciated.

·
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
7,685 Posts
Welcome aboard.