Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Perhaps I'm even in the wrong place. You all seem to know so much. I'm an electrician and have no background in Biology, however, I love my aquariums. I've decided to set up an African tank for my first time. My aquariums have been set up forever, but I only recently learned about "cycling". My aquariums have always been very clean and have never required maintenance beyond a small weekly water change/gravel vacuum so this leads me to believe that I've probably achieved cycled tanks purely by accident.

However, this time I tried to follow instructions I've gathered from many different sources on the web.

My new 50 gallon tank is on day 31 of cycling. I haven't done any water changes for the past 3 days. My last change was a normal 10% water change done every 3 days in the first month of my tanks first cycle. Below are the measurements done prior to my tanks first major water change.

This is a table of the readings provided by both of the test kits I use to maintain my aquariums. The difference between master kits and sticks tests are pretty evident. Master kits will provide you with a more accurate reading, stick tests provide you with less accurate results but provides results extremely fast.

Here are the first test results prior to my first major water change:

Tetratest Laborett ( master kit )

NO3 n/a
NO2 - > 3.3 mg/l
NH3/NH4 - < 0.25 mg/l
pH - 8.3
GH - 16.0 (284.8 ppm)
KH - 10.0 (178.0 ppm)
CO2 - 1.6 mg/l
Chlorine - n/a

Jungle ( stick )

NO3 20.0 ppm
NO2 > 10.0 ppm
NH3/NH4 n/a
pH 8.4
GH 300.0 ppm
KH 300.0 ppm
CO2 n/a
Chlorine 0.0 ppm

** where there is n/a for reading indicates that the kit doesn't provide a test for that substance.