Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
935 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I've been doing freshwater tanks for a few years and am now contemplating doing a saltwater FOWLR tank. As a starting point...my wife really likes the lemonpeel angel...What tankmates would be recommended? Is it generally safe to just mix various saltwater angels and butterflyfish, as long as you keep each species singly and avoid similar-looking fish?

How big should I go on the tank? My understanding is that bigger is generally better...but I want to make sure the upkeep (cost of salt, electricity to run return pumps, etc) doesn't get too crazy.

The wall I have available can comfortably fit a 6 or even 8 foot tank if I want. One end of the tank may get a little bit of sunlight as it would be next to a window, however.

I'm not sure I want to deal with anything deeper or taller than my current 180gal (72"x24"x24") -- I have trouble imagining working in anything deeper or taller than that. Though I feel like having additional length certainly wouldn't hurt.

I think I will want to have a sump setup like I have on my freshwater tanks, but not sure exactly what I will need.

What will the maintenance be like for this type of setup, as far as water changes, assuming it ends up being pretty well stocked?

Thanks!
-Zeke

·
I CHANGE WATER
8,440 Posts
I like my 120g with 2 overflows like the 180.
I appreciate you wanting longer than 6',is a 8' 300 g tank a possiblity?
I think if you don't get extra length(going from 6-8)Then you are only getting taller,which is of no use besides harder to work around.
Since you'll be starting new and need to cycle I would learn about bio plastics or vodka dosing(some form of carbon dosing) and you may in turn find there is little upkeep besides testing the traces.
All my salt water tanks get like a waterchange every 6 months or so?
NitrAtes are easily controlled in marine aquaria.