Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone-

I'm fairly new to fish- I've had a single goldfish in a 10 gallon tank for about 4 years and two bettas in 5 gallon tanks for 1 and 3 years, but this is my first big tank. I have a 45 gallon corner tank (its hexagon so it can fit in a corner) that we set up this last week. Its a beautiful tank and we had a lot of fun setting it up- lots of plants and decorations including a huge ship with a ton of hiding places (the inside is all caves and hiding nooks) and 4 or 5 big chunks of fake coral, along with about half a dozen fake plants. We chose an aquaclear 70 filter (made for 30-70 gallons) and a good heater and digital thermometer, along with two airpumps. We set the tank up with conditioned water that was room temp, aquarium salt and a big handful of gravel from the established tank, and let it run for the weekend per suggestion of our fish specialty store, then added our cycling fish, four tiger barbs on Monday. I then went out of town and left the tank in the care of my eager and excited boyfriend with instructions on how to test, waterchange etc.

I came home today and found out that since Monday, he's added several fish from the list we had made out for the finished setup- the tank is now almost completely stocked. It has 6 tiger barbs, a gold gourami, a pearl gourami, a rainbow shark, and a female paradise fish. The only thing he DIDNT add from the list was the cories and bristlenosed pleco we had picked out. So now instead of trying to cycle the tank with 4 small fish, we have 10 fish!