Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought and am just about through cycling a 29 gallon tank. I want to set this one up for african cichlids. I have my ph right around 8 (maybe a little under) and my water it fairly hard for tap water (not exactly sure where im sitting at though) I know that i want yellow labs but was wondering what else i could go with? Im new to these fish so im open for any suggestions :)

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
alright after a little more research i was thinking about maybe trying peacocks as well. Whats the best way to tell the sex of these two species? I was thinking about going with a 3 females/1 male ratio with two different species of cichlids. I was also wondering if there are any schooling fish for upper to mid level of my tank that would be good with these species of cichlids? Maybe barbs or a large tetra species? I was also thinking that if i did the schooling fish i should introduce them before the cichlids...but i really dont know what im doing here so any help at all would be awesome lol

·
Registered
35 Posts
As far as I'm aware, African Cichlids don't really mix well with other tropicals, as they tend to be pretty aggressive. I had a good deal of success with Labidochromis Hongi (light blue) that looked great with the yellows you're looking at.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Once again with more research..i think i changed my mind yet again lol. Im glad i did the research before hand. Im now thinking im going to get kribs and have a more community style set up with larger tetra..

·
fishboydanny
584 Posts