Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, Im new to the aquarium world and have a couple of questions about my set up. I bought a 20 gal tank and kit made by Aqueon that came with the hood, light, filter, and heater. Is the best place to put the heater right next to the filter? I was doing research and finding maybe it should be right next to the filter (its in the right corner now and the filter is in the left). How far away from the filter induction tube should it be? Should i put it on the left side or right side of the filter? Also, the stick on thermometer should be on the opposite side as the heater, correct? Sorry for all the nitt-picky questions, i just want this to be done right. Thanks for the advice and i really am looking forward to learning all kinds of info from this forum. Any other beginner advice would be great.

There is a pic in my aquarium gallery since i cannot post links just yet.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Does not really matter if it is next to the filter.Mine is on both my tanks.Just keep it on the opposite end of the thermometer!Tank looks good any idea what your going to stock it with?And make sure you cycle the tank before adding any fish.And what type of filter is that on it.Most filters that come with the kits are not that great.So make sure your filter will work accordingly with the setup you will have in the end!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3