Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 124 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am new to SW tanks although I have had FW tanks for years. I eventually want to convert one of my 55G to a SW but for now, due to money and other pets, I want to start out with a 10G. I posted on another forum and got some good advice but I figure the more advice from different people the better. I have been doing alot of reading and started planning the setup. I have tons of tanks and tons of stuff like heaters and power heads so I am going to use one of my 10G with a HOB filter and a florecent tank light. I am starting out with sand and 8-10 lbs of live rock then once its cycled I want maybe 2 small clowns and the cleaning crew.

From reading online I guess all live rock needs to be added first then let the cycling end then add the cleaning crew then fish. I am not planning on any type of coral at this time, maybe in the future. in a 10g tank about how much water evaporates a day? Do I need to top it off daily? or when it drops below a certain amount. The LPS sell water and they are really close to the house so getting RO water isnt hard at all.

A lot of people say for newbies NOT to start out with a small tank but I want a SW and dont want to spend the money converting my 55g yet. Other than patients and lots of research does anyone have good advice for me just getting started with a 10G tank?

·
Registered
1,770 Posts
10 gallons is pretty small, but since u plan to include LR u should be ok with bi-weekly to weekly water changes. a good idea is to use an HOB (preferably an aquaclear) and make it into a refugium. than use an HOB protein skimmer. for that tank, tunze nano protein skimmer and sapphire nanoskimmers are good but expensive.

Reactions: Joey

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #3