Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 8 Gallon Tank and I am thinking make it as fresh water tank. I need help for fish less cycling, what type of filter do I need and what other equipment i should be ready with. I read on INTERNET they recommend the ammonia to use for cycling but i could not find it in the market. So what I was asking that should I use any hardy fish. if yes than which will be good for my 8 gallon tank.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
274 Posts
I'm rather new at this as well but for 8 gallons, I'd suggest a couple of schools of tetras. Are you going to use real plants? That helps cycle the tank a little faster. If you don't have access to ammonia, some people toss in a raw piece of shrimp. As it decays, bacteria forms and thus starts the process. You could also get some gravel or some filter media from an established tank. Good luck!

·
Registered
153 Posts
DON"T USE TETRAS TO CYCLE!!!! They make great pets but you have to cycle the tank REALLY well first.

Do you have a tank already set up with fish in it? If so just swap the filters, if not then I will tell you what to do.

Get some minnows, any kind are fine. Here's why: cheep and hardy. Cycle for 3 weeks with minnows and be sure to change the water ( one fifth) every 2 weeks. Then add some tetras. You can euthinize the minnows by putting them in a cup with clove oil then adding clear acohol to the water (NOT IN THE TANK DO IT IN A CUP). If you have never kept fish before do not get Neon Tetras. They are hard to care for. Stick to small fish.

·
Registered
1,770 Posts