Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
I want to buy some Neon Tetra and patiently wait for my newly planted aquarium to get to the right chemical balance to introduce them.
I read various advices on how to introduce them in their new tank. Since I am a beginner I am not sure which one I should follow...
I would like to ask; is it true that the water of the bag should never been mix with the auqrium water? Have you got any tip on how to introduce them safely? I would hate to see them dying!
Thank you

Corinne

·
Registered
258 Posts
what are the parameters of your planted tank? You will want to make sure the tank has cycled completely before adding the neons to the tank.
Neons work the best in groups of 6 or more.

·
Premium Member
3,108 Posts
Neons are very sensitive to ammonia so like John suggested, make sure your tank has cycled already before adding them. Make certain it has an established bacteria colony in the filter to process the waste in the water.
Regarding mixing the water, stores use chemicals and medicines and things you may not want in your tank. Especially if you have live plants or inverts such as snails, they may be very sensitive to chemicals from the store. Also the store water will throw your parameters slightly off balance, more so with a smaller tank.