Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I'm new to the aquarium forum but this is technically my second thread as my first was in the new members forum. If you care to read:
http://www.aquariumforum.com/f13/hello-aquarium-forum-5458.html

anywho, let's get down to business because I'm trying to save three fish.

I've got a ten gallon glass aquarium that originally came with a petsmart (TOP FIN) starter kit. I recently replaced the original TOP FIN filter with a Hagen Aquaclear 20. I got it going and I noticed that the nitrite levels were increasing (currently at 1 ppm). I put the fish in a small plastic container (filled with distilled water) and they seem to be doing fine but what can I do to get the tank to cycle quickly (because I don't see the fish lasting in their temporary quarters for a month while the new tank cycles) ? From what I've read you are supposed to add ammonia to the tank (and keep it at a certain level) until the nitrite level goes to zero? Is this correct ? any help the board could provide would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
756 Posts
You put your fish in a small uncycled container of distilled water?! :facepalm: Distilled water is not ideal for fish, it is too clean. The kH and GH are like 1 or lower, and in a small container any waste will cause an ammonia spike and fluctuate the pH.

Work with the tank you have now, go out and get some Prime or similar product that makes ammonia, chlorine, nitrite, and nitrates non-toxic. Add it to the tank and then re-acclimate the fish slowly. You will still get a nitrite reading but it will be non-toxic if you follow the dosing instruction. Do small water changes until you get your bacteria back.