Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys. im new to the aquariums. i am going to buy a my first very soon. im lookin at about 20 to 30 gal. i have read up on cycling a new tank. to do fishless what needs to be in the tank just the substrate, heater, filter. or do i need all the decor i plan on putting in. what works best or easier. also what are your opinions on the starter kits. i was thinking it would be best to get one versus getting everything seperate. or do you guys highly recemend against it. just remember ive never had a tank before. so im looking for a simpler set up to start. also in the 20 to 30 range what am i looking at for fish selection? any help would be greatly apreciated. thank you in advance.

·
Registered
18 Posts
good to see you did your research on cycling your tank 1st, you want to have all decor in your tank while you cycle.

As for the starter kits, it depends on were you are buying it from, for example a petsmart starter kit comes with all their generic filter,heater, air supply and such, i would suggest STAY AWAY from that, even the people i spoke with in petsmart said their stuff sucks... i ran an auquaclear 300 on my 29 gallon for 5 years and i never had a problem, I now run it in a 55 gallon no problems... make sure you get enought of a heater to cover your tank get somthign that says up to 30 gallons... same goes for the air suppy make sur eyou have enouugh water movement to prevent stagnent water...

As for the fish its really up to you, a few questions whats the PH and Hardness on your tap water?????

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
the starter kit i was looking at was made by marineland. it wasn't petco brand. and it was 28 gallon bow front. if the kit isnt store brand do you think it is ok. i mean to start with, remember ive never done this before. not sure of the ph and hardness of my tap water. its town water so im sure it has quite a bit of chemicals in it.