Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday I purchased my very first tank every so go easy on me. I'm taking my time with it as well to make sure i get it right.

~40G tank
~Emperor 280
~Stealth Heater
~36" Formosa

Today I went and go a little live rock.

I'll post pics later

Also would a prizim skimmer work for me. My LFS said around $200 for one. That just seems high. Let me know.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
The Pics

let me know what y'all think. Again its my first time so any and everything is appreciated. It is a work and progress

·
Marine Aquarium Expert/Saltwater Section Mgr.
355 Posts
you can use a sea clone 100 skimmer hang-on. works great i have used them an SM tanks and like them and the price is about $70.00 good luck.

·
Marine Aquarium Expert/Saltwater Section Mgr.
355 Posts
i had a sea clone on one of my 75 gallon reef tank and it kick a$$ for a cheap skimmer... but that's just me

·
Registered
943 Posts
I got a shrimp today and three snails. I'll try to post some pics later.
SLOW DOWN!!! your tank should cycle for at least 6-8 weeks before you start adding live stock and every time you add LR you can send your tank into a small cycle. I would not waste my money on a Prism or Sea Clone pure junk IMO get your self a good skimmer and save some headaches, Aqua C Remoras are good skimmers, are you planning reef or just fish if reef take the HOB filter off as soon as you get a GOOD skimmer and proper amount of LR with proper flow and that is all you will need for filtration, here is a link for a skimmer. AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer With Rio+ 800 Pump

You will need good PH's and depending on what you plan to keep will determine what size PH's you will need but I would say at least Koralia #2's and here is a link for them also

Hydor Koralia Circulation Pump/Powerhead UL

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #8