Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I'm brand new to the hobby. Just got my tank set up a few days ago and am trying to cycle it now. Going fishless with direct ammonia addition, so we'll see how that goes.

I converted a hand-crafted (by my wife's grandfather) TV stand that was built pretty sturdy. I added some strategic reinforcing lumber, but I have to admit, I was a bit nervous knowing this tank would probably weigh upwards of 350 pounds. Four days and counting, so far so good.

A few details: 29 gallon freshwater with a Penguin 200 power filter and bio-wheel, 150 W Visitherm submersible heater, a bunch of plastic plants, a few hunks of glass, and a lovely centerpiece rock that looks like Swiss Cheese. I'm sure the fish will love the holes!

The only concern I have is that it looks like the aquarium glass itself is bowed out slightly near the top. The bottom is perfectly straight, but the top is curved out maybe a quarter inch; not much, but just enough to see if you put a straight edge against it, like the lid. Is this normal?

And now for the pics!

Thanks for looking!
-Tim

·
Cornelius
95 Posts
looks good! I have never noticed the top of the glass bowing, but I never put a strait edge to my 75 and the bow front I have now is supposed to look like that...I think.

your centerpiece is awesome. I love that rock. I have experimented with glass chucks in the tank before, I particularly had good luck with them over a blue glass substrate, looked really cool. There was something intriguing with the way the algae eaters swarmed to it also. I like the light blue/white gravel, although I find that darker substrate makes the fish look brighter. The plants look good. You did a good job with placement.

I have that style heater in my quarantine tank, I love the easy adjustment with the heat scale on it. I did not completely submerge mine though, I couldn't remember if they were sealed, I guess they must be.