Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm trying to set up a 10 gallon planted tank so I can get a handle on the hobby and am getting frustrated by the cost of light hoods. I know that for serious aquarists incandescent lights are a big no-no. Sadly down here there's about a 30 dollar price difference between an incandescent and a flourescent hood for a 10 gallon... making the light hood more expensive than any other component I need for the setup!

Anyone have any advice on a way to do this a bit cheaper? I've looked a little into CFL's and have seen some interesting DIY projects for planted aquariums but not sure if I want to go that length for a tank so small.

Is there a cheap way to get a planted 10 gal lit up for healthy plants without shelling out 50 bucks on a hood?

Also, I have some experience with electronics so DIY advice is welcome!

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Right now I'm running extremely cheaply with a Desk lamp and a 6500k CFL. The next thing I'm planning to buy is a decent hood, but if my Anachris grows fine I'll probably just save the money for supplies for my 55 gal.

·
Queen Platy
932 Posts
Do what WhiteDevil suggested. It is what I did after I saw the prices of the light fixtures. I took an old ceiling fan, took out 4 of the light socket adapters (they look like 4 short tubes) and attached them together parallel, and attached it to an extension cord. And of course attached those to the bottom of my self-made hood. Its brighter then the light fixture that I was going to buy too, because I can adjust the wattage. I use 4 CFL pigtail bulbs 6500k color. The whole thing probably costed me less than 20 bucks.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #6