Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I recently purchased a home in the country and am setting up a new 40 gallon tank for my various goldfish. The tank is set up and has a brand new Tetra filtration system that has been running for 2 days with Tetra AquaSafe (which supposedly makes tap water safe for fish) and also has a Tetra heater and brand new gravel.

My question is, is the well water safe enough to put my goldfish in yet? And if not, how long should I wait?

·
Registered
57 Posts
My city water comes from a well, but they still ad in chemicals and all that mess so I always use a water conditioner to neutralize it. If you're getting your water straight from a well on your land, I'd still use the AquaSafe just to error on the side of caution.

As far as adding the fish in, well there is the cycling process and while I'm no expert at that part you can find information here and elsewhere on the net about fishless cycling vs cycling with fish.

·
Registered
232 Posts
Before you get any fish in the tank you need to get it cycled. This can take anywhere from a week to 6-8 weeks depending on what method you use. The best advice I can give you is to read up on the cycle before you rush into things. As far as the well water goes it really varies from well to well. The first thing I would do is to test the water parameters (ammonia, nitrites, nitrates). I would also check hardness and total dissolve solids. This is not super important in most municipalities but some wells have some pretty bad water.

·
New Member Manager
689 Posts
true that, you need to cycle your tank before you introduce fish into it. but to answer ur question, we need to know the water conditions of ur well water. whats the pH, hardness, ammonia? (probably none...) chlorine?