Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, not exactly a pond. I'm totally new to the fish scene, so please bear with me.

I would like to get a half-barrel sized 'pond' to start that I could use for a baby koi and put it outside on my patio. I live near the beach and the weather's been pretty cold lately (dropping to 45.F at night) So I'm worried that it would get *too* cold for a baby koi.

I'm sure it would be okay and all, just want to make sure before I go out and accidentally kill a sweet fish b/c of my stupidity.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I tried to ascertain where Monster lived, but was unable to do so. Where Jarred (Mediahound) lives, it is not too important. Where I live, a half whisky barrel would freeze solid, at some time, during the winter. Koi and Goldfish (both are carp) are, basically, cold water fish, and they can live under ice in a pond, but they cannot survive if the container freezes solid, to the bottom. In south Florida, the problem might be that the water gets too warm. Cold water fish, like trout, carp, etc., have a higher oxygen requirement than tropical fish, and warm water cannot hold as much dissolved oxygen, as cold water.

·
Registered
81 Posts
We had baby koi outside and the water froze the surface. We would go out every morning and afternoon and break a good junk of it open. Never used a heater and never had a problem.
The only concern I would have, is if the fish are sold indoors in a heated environment and then placed outside in this weather, it might shock them.
*45 is not that bad...I would be more concerned with under *40

·
Reefer, Plants and Ponds
270 Posts
Must remember that a baby koi will become an adult koi! They grow up to 2 ft. in length, so you must plan accordingly. My backyard pond is about 800 gallons, and it is too small for koi. They need a depth of 3-4 ft. Maybe you should plan on a small goldfish instead. Some of the sarassa and shubunkins are gorgeous.

·