Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
wuz up i am new to this salt water /nano hobby . unfortunatly i havent been able to get a bigger tank so im starting off with a 12g jbj nano cube...i plan on adding coral soon and a couple colorful fish. so far my tank has been running for almost a week with approx 10 pounds of live rock. it has a lot of purple and red and dark people spots here n there (i assume those are dead spots?) and also a couple spots of this flourecent red that glows wen i turn on the led lights looks kinda nice. oh yea and some shelled critters here n there i assume came with the sand. also, some green hairs on the rocks. the water i added was pre made at the store i assume thats good. i bought several chemicals i beleive i would need in the future heres a list of them... Cycle...kent marine iodide....kent marine zooplex...and the A and B chemical process. i plan on getting the test kits this weekend. wich would i most necesarily need?
I hear a lot about protein skimmers some people say u need them and some say u dont regardless i bought one but does not fit i realized too late wen i got it it says for 14 gallons n up...that was the oceanic skimmer they also had the fission one...but it seems to be the same size..should i really worry about having one? or will my chemicals be enough along with water changes?? should i remove the carbon wen i add my chemicals? or can i leave it there? and last question for now....other than damsels wat fish are good to start with? i apologize for the bombarbment of questions but i like doing things the right way so i would appreciate the help from anyone willing to help thanks again :eek:)

·
Reefer, Plants and Ponds
270 Posts