Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like a catfish to live with my gar but I don't really know what one to pick (I am new to predatory fish) I want one that is 7 to 11 inches and is easy to care for. Also I would like it if it is easy to find at the LPS and under $50.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,770 Posts
iridescent sharks and red-tailed cats are common catfish and reach similar sizes to the gar.

Reactions: garfreak526

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Yes but when the fish is young and small (this is true with snakeheads and most others) you should keep them in a smaller tank so that it is easer for them to hunt and other stuff like that. I read it on a website. I dont have the URL sorry.

·
Registered
1,770 Posts
and gars get even bigger

Reactions: JIM

·
Banned
1,148 Posts
Funny story, i bought the cutest little Red tail cat a few years back about 3 inches long put him in a 75 with a bunch of nice cichlids, pretty soon (much Sooner than you think) he was all alone in that tank with a fat belly and hardly room to turn around. I donated him to the zoo in Indianapolis, where he resides still as far as i know in a gazillion gallon tank, which is where these kind of fish belong, if not still in an amazon river. Just for general knowledge these fish can reach at least 5 feet in length. :)

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
Just how big a tank are we talking about here anyway? Most of the cat's that will be compatible with gars will get to be an extraordinary size like the channel, RTC, TSN just to name a few.

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
and gars get even bigger
The biggest gars in the wild (gator gars) are 8 feet but most are only 5 or 6. If you go on youtube there is a guy swimming with them (most are really big). Needle nose only get about 2 feet. I am getting a longnose

·
Banned
24 Posts
and gars get even bigger