Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I am totally new to this whole thing and have read a few books, spent hours researching online and am now moving on to the forums and experienced aquarium hobbyists like yourselves for advice.

I really have my heart set on getting a Fluval Osaka 155. Includes:

* Fluval Osaka 155 Bent Glass Aquarium, 41 U.S. Gal.
* Fluval Osaka 155 Aquarium Cabinet
* Fluval 205 External Filter
* Fluval Tronic 150 Watt Aquarium Heater
* Glo T5 HO (High Output) Double Lighting System, 24"
* 2 Life-Glo T5 HO Fluorescent Bulbs, 24 W
* Nutrafin Max Complete Flake Food (2.12 oz)
* Nutrafin Aqua Plus Water Conditioner (4 oz)
* Nutrafin Cycle Biological Aquarium Supplement (4 oz)

I'm Hoping for some advice and opinions on setting all this up, especially with cycling (I'm totally confused how to do this right). I want to use live plants and will be using the Flourite Substrate unless there is a better alternative. Is the Filter going to be enough or should I supplement with a second filter?

·
Registered
232 Posts
My advice would be to do a search on fishless cycling. Some people use fish to cycle and some don't. Once you understand the cycling process you will have the hard part done. It gets frustrating having to wait weeks to get everything going but patience in the beginning will go a long way in the end. If you want to cycle with fish that can be done as well, either way study up on the cycle.
If I were you I would not use the Nutrafin Cycle product. It contains bacteria but it is not aquatic bacteria. So once it is added it will work for about a week. Then you need to add it for the life of the tank because the bacteria in that product will not survive in an aquarium. Tetra Safe Start has the correct bacteria in it and will work if it is used correctly. If you do a fishless cycle you won't need the bacterial supplements.