Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a complete beginner to all of this and bought my first tank on monday. I have a 60litre tank with the filter and heater. I treat the tap water before putting it into the tank and added a dosage of the 'cycle' to the water. I was wondering how soon it would be to add my first fish? It has been 2 days, should I wait longer?

·
Registered
192 Posts
I'm no expert on this, but i always let it cycle for over a week and then do a complete test on the water. Someone with more experience will chime in soon.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I tested using a test strip and everything seems to be okay but I'm not sure whether levels will rise at all and whether it would be unsafe to add fish now or not?

·
Registered
170 Posts
This is how i did it. Go through the hole bottle of cycle & test your water [week 1]. Then weight another 7 days [week 2 ]. During [week 3 ] you could try to put a few starter fish in like guppies. This will give you something to enjoy, until your tank is completely cycled. At that time you can start another bottle of cycle and weight another 2 weeks [week 6]. After that you could put a few [1 or 2] Hardy fish of your choice in. Then every week or so add another fish you like but put your hardy fish in first and your more delicate fish in last. I did it this way and had no problems. JUST remember you will ALSO be doing allot of water changes once you put your first fish in. I did to 2 to 3 water changes at 30% twice a week for 3 months, Then I cut back to 2 changes for the 4th month & now I do 1 change at 50% every week on my 55 Gallon. OH and I only lost 1 Starter fish doing it this way.

·
Registered
41 Posts