Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok im new here and a complete newb. i have a 36 gallon tank. set it up and have been running it for a few days now. setting it up as a freshwater tank and will probably start with platy's to start and add some other species later. want to start adding fish but my chemistry is out of whack and dont know what i need to do to fix it. stats are gh-180, kh-180, ph-6.5, nitrites is 0 and nitrate is 20. how do i get the gh and kh down and the ph up a lil bit?

·
Registered
756 Posts
The kH and GH are actually pretty good for most fish. I believe a 180ppm is close to a kH and GH of 4-5 if you use degrees. pH is also ok especially for tetras that like it a bit acidic. I keep my tetras at 6.4.

However livebearers tend to like a higher pH ~7.2-7.4. If you want to raise your pH, you just add akaline buffer (Seachem) or something similar (pH UP). I would test your tap water's pH and add this to your weekly water change so that you do not add this directly into the tank. You want to adjust pH in small increments. The 25% weekly water change keeps your nitrates in check.

Hope this makes sense.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i was told that my gh and kh are a lil high. was told they should be around 80-120 ppm.

·
Catch and Release
263 Posts
to fix ph, they have chemicals to raise and lower ph levels.

The nitrates should balance out in a little while. Wait a little while, test it again and get fish.

·
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
7,685 Posts
The kh and gh is good for most any fish. What kind of tests are you using? Test your tap water for nitrates. There may be some that are in the tap. Unless you have gone through an ammonia spike and nitrite spike your tank isn't cycled and not ready for fish. And being up just a few days its hasn't. There are many articles on the nitrogen cycle I suggest you read before adding any fish to the tank.