Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
i am new to saltwater i have a 55 gal freshwater with cichlids doing great having babys and all but i started saltwater in december of 08 30 gal hex it was hard to do anything with so i got a 40 gal tall rectangle and i have a emporor 280 a seaclone skimmer 2 power heads one of them turns digital temp gauge tank is at 78degrees i have 30 lbs of base rock and 35lbs of live rock with aquacultured coral on it 1 green rose coral and a couple of star corals i have a 192 watt coral life pc with luner lighting the tank is 19in deep with a mix of live sand and crushed coral i took the sand from my 30 gal hex and most of the base rock the coral is all new i have a watermellon mushroom 15 pollups i have some yellow zenthia and a chunk of brown,pink button polups the new tank was setup 3 weeks ago the coral all did great from the start but i cant seem to keep any fish even damsels alive for more than a week now my corals have started shrinking and wont open anymore im using strontium,iodine,amino with trace,purple up my ph is 8.2 my amonia is 0-.25 if i go over 3 minutes my nitite is 0 my nitrate is 10 and my calcium is 460 my kh is 11-13 i have 2 star fish,8 snails mexican,6 blue leg crabs and one cleaner shrimp all doing great why are my corals now suffering with my water still being good? its now march 27th what is problem oh and salinty is 1.023

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2