Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So know what i did, need some advice on how to proceed.

in my ten gal nano tank, i cycled it for a month, put in inverts and then on the 6th week, placed in 1 small fish. The tank was done cycling and all levels were perfect.

Then when i went to the store to get my first corals, I showed the guy a pic of my setup and he said i needed more live rock and proceeded to sell me 2 large pieces with my corals.

So i placed the live rock and the corals. And of course the live rock is now cycling. This has been going on for a week. 2 Days after i placed it all i lost a coral and so i tested and saw the levels were a bit high but being a noob i just thought it was because i added all the new corals. Didn't occur until yesterday that DUH! the live rocks cycling.

So as it stands now, actually all of my coral, inverts and 1 fish are pretty happy, all corals are out and even growing. but my levels are still high. I have been doing water changes of about 10-20% every day to no real avail. The levels aren't through the roof but i know its not good.

Ammonia - 0.50
PH - 8.0 (close to norm)
Nitrate - 20
Nitrite - 1.0

Inverts - 10 snails, 1 pom pom crab, 2 cleaner shrimp, 3 sexy shrimp

i see most people are very against meds. Should i just stay the course and keep doing aggressive water changes? Should I take the 2 pieces of live rock out (prob as most of my corals attached to it), or head to meds? Do i need more inverts?

Attachments

·
Registered
119 Posts
stay the course..levels are high but just let it run its course..IMO i wouldnt go the med route..keep us posted..

Rick

·
Premium Member
3,108 Posts
Your water changes are helping, a little, but its a help.