Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be moving into a house in about a month that I'll live in for the next 4 years for college and want to start a fish tank. I'd like to have a 100 gallon tank featuring several types of Fancy Guppies. I want the aquarium to have live plants and if at all possible have the plants be somewhat colorful. Ultimately I would like the only type of fish to be guppies but I wondered if there are any types of crabs, colorful snails, or frogs that are full aquatic( I don't want a semi-aquatic tank) that could peacefully live with guppies. The biggest problem I have is while I know what I would like to have in the tank I have zero knowledge on properly setting up a tank to know what type of filter, heater, etc I would need for it all to work out. If anyone can point me in the direction of some info for someone who knows nothing about fish keeping that would be awesome.

~Scott~

·
Pleco n bn breeder n BOSS
7,685 Posts
You should look into apple snails, they come in many different colors. I think most crabs would need some land mass, there are some aquatic dwarf frogs. Just make sure you don't get the african clawed frog as they will go after small fish.

There is also some of the bigger shrimp, like amanos or bamboo shrimp which I don't think the guppies would bother.

If you go with a 100 gal tank, best filter in my opinion would be a canister. Less maint. to them. Lighting would depend on if you want live plants and the type of plants. I would suggest a low light planted tank with some hardy plants. Substrate would depend on how much you want to spend. Anywhere from aquatic gravel to high end plant substrate.

·
Registered
2,608 Posts
Wowsers! 100g guppy tank? That's a lot o guppies! ;o)

Let's see...snails yes (Briggs and Nerites come in a nice color assortment)...shrimp yes....ADF (African Dwarf Frog) yes.

Crabs and ACF (African Clawed Frog)...no...they will munch the gupps.