Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
well, i plan on building a 10g sump for my 20g. the problem is i don't know how to build one.

i've done the obvious, and looked it up on google - but the other problem is they aren't very detailed and i'm not that experienced in the fish-hobbyist feild, yet..

i've made this thread to ask those of you who have built one or more, to guide me through this. hopefully even more detailed than what i've tried to find myself.

-

the advice i'm looking for is that i'm planning on getting a new fish set-up as my gourami's outgrew my tank. they've been given a good home, along with my CAE.

now what i'm asking is, what type of fish should i go with? Aggressive, Semi-Aggressive, or Community? i love unusual looking fish, and will probably get a Crowntail as my first fish. but some of you may say to get Oto's as tank mates, and i'll probably get one or two to keep my Crowntail happy with itself, but i know people who've managed to keep other fish with a betta. those outside it's compatibility chart. i would also like to have a puffer, but i've heard it's a big no-no with bettas. i would still want to try my luck, and hope for a very passive puffer or crowntail..even though i'm leaning towards the Crowntail setup, i'd like your suggestions as to what type of fish i should get.

thanks,
Carlos.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
okay. i've thought about considering a fig8, but i'm well aware they outgrow my 20g tank. do they HAVE to be in BW? or can i just have it in with FW?

also, if i would convert to a SW tank, what are ideal fish i could have there without having to get a bigger tank? i like seahorses and the SW puffers, but once again i'm well aware the puffers grow rather large.

·
Registered
943 Posts