Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
[S
IZE="4"][/SIZE]
Helo to everyone, well i just joined this site today and so far found it very interesting:)
I have owned a tropical fish tank for approx 3months now, so i am am very new to this wonderful new world.
I was just doing some reserch on 'silver dollars' when i came across this forum.
My tank holds approx 300litres of water which will give you an idea of how big my tank is.
I have in my tank 5 guppies, 2 sharks (5.5cm in length), 2 guarmis, 2ramis, 2angels, 2 silver dollars, 2 catfish, 2(unsure of their breed) algea sucking spotted fish, 2 tetras.
I was getting concerned for our silver dollars as they were hiding most of the time, only coming out when i switch the light off, and also they didnt seem to be eating much. I am a bit wiser now after reading up on them:eek:.
Well as i am new to this, any comments of any kind to help me look after my new and very much loved family will be much appriciated.
kind regards gutsyguppy1

·
Registered
42 Posts
well guts, great job on getting yourself a large tank. will save you alot of hassle.
is your tank planted?

Its my opinion that smaller fish, (like the ones youve chosen) look better in multitude, and a planted tank will help you to maintain the water quality if you put alot of fish in it. what kind of sharks are those.. are they black with red fins?
And those angels ... you should put 3 or more.. one will dominate and pick on the other till it dies .. but if there are 3, it will give the other a break, (unless they are a mating pair, but i doubt that they are)

most people will say that you should put less fish then more. but i don;t think thats nessecary, if you have a good filter, and you do water changes. but of course you can;t have more fish then water.. hehe.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
well guts, great job on getting yourself a large tank. will save you alot of hassle.
is your tank planted?