Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm a new aquarist. I have never done this before. I want to get a malawi setup going. Any tips would be appreciated. What are the best decorations to use, I guess not decorations, but rocks, wood, etc. I have a few tunnels and rocks with little tunnels etc but i see some amazing tanks and simple looks the best. So far these 3 species have really caught my eye.

Labidochromis caeruleus
Pseudotropheus demasoni
Melanochromis cyaneorhabdos

·
Registered
232 Posts
I don't know about the malawi setups specifically but if you don't already know the first thing you need to read up on is the nitrogen cycle. Look on this site or google it and you will find ample info. Depending on how you do it it can take as little as a couple weeks and as long as months. It is vital to get benefitial bacteria established in the tank before adding fish or you will have problems. A fishless cycle is probably the best. That way you can get your tank set up and work on getting the decor the way you want it. Then you can add fish later and they should be healthy and will live a lot longer. If you are at a local fish shop or chain store DON'T let them talk you into buying fish right away. No matter what they try to sell you it won't work and it takes time. There is one product out there that seems to be having some success at allowing you to instantly add fish but I don't trust it yet. I am cycling one tank that has fish and it is taking forever. When I set my 120 G up I will go fishless cycle for sure.

·
Registered
12 Posts