Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi there. I am a beginner fish hobbyist and I can say I enjoy it quite well for as frustrating as it can be.

Over the past 6-8 months I have gone through plenty of fish, whether it was due to water problems or fish problems.

I started my tank out with a clown knife, 2 blue gouramis, and 2 pink kissing gourami and a pleco. 2 months later a pink and blue gourami ended up dying. They were the smaller of the group and got bullied. Then the pleco died and made the water all nasty. He decided to hide when he died so I didn't find him till a couple days later. :-(

I then invested into a clown loach to feed off the bottom. That was a big mistake and instead he decided to chill on top of the thermometer. I then bought a crawdad, thinking he would pick up the loach's slack. The crawdad ended up devouring the loach and hurting the pink gourami. *o2

My mistake on not putting Melafix into the tank and the pink gourami ended up dying. So I decided to buy two blackfin sharks and a dwarf gourami. Even Bigger Mistake!

The same day I bought my sharks, my knife decided he was hungry and tried eating one. Poor guy was miserable. He had got the dorsal fin of the shark hooked through his mouth and did everything he could to get the shark out. He even realized he ate the wrong fish. So b/f helped grab the knife out of the water while I cut the dorsal fin of the shark to pull the shark out of my knifes mouth. Poor knife has not been the same and cant close his mouth. When I saw the shark in the knifes mouth, I figured I'd let him go ahead and eat the shark since he was hungry. It wasn't until couple hours later I kept hearing a noise from the fish tank. I went to go look and saw the knife was jumping, knocking water out of the tank, and kept knocking the lid off. I'm such a bad parent! *H2