Aquarium Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to aquariums, I just bought a beautiful new tank, I think it's 55g. I'm planning on having a nice community tank.

I was wondering how long I'm going to have to wait to put fish in it, after setting it up with the chemicals and whatnot.

After I wait some time, what are the best fish to get first?

How many fish can I add to my tank per week?

What should I put in my tank? Castles, plants, etc?

What should I put on the bottom? I was planning on normal sand.

These are the fish I was planning on having...

10 Zebra Danios
6 Peppered Cory's
6 White Clouds
4 Clown Loaches
1 Male Betta
3 Goldfish
1 Small Pleco
6 Tiger Barbs

I know that is probably too many fish, so please tell me, what should I omit?

Are there other good community fish that I should look into?

What fish should I steer clear of?

Thanks in advance for the help, I really appreciate it. I've loved aquariums and fish my whole life, I've had a couple tanks but never anything nearly as nice as the tank that I bought. When all is done, I'll return to post some pictures. Thanks again!

·
fishboydanny
584 Posts
goldfish are coldwater, the other fish aren't..... not compatible

tiger barbs WILL eat the fins of the betta, eventually killing it, so choose between them..... females can be kept together, and are just as pretty; except the fact their fins are shorter..... tiger barbs are mean, and Ive seen them 4 inches, so I say that if you want a peaceful tank, delete the tiger barbs. there are exeptions though, but are very rare and in larger tanks.....

I've seen clown loaches 6 inches long, so use caution